Skip to content

Waldorf Doll pattern and tutorial for doll, dress, and hair

February 26, 2011

Patterns and tutorials are in our store!  Adirondack Patterns.

We also have a blog called  Windfall Dolls, where my sister and I give away Waldorf inspired dolls to deserving little ones.

::::::::::::

Other wise known as two sleepless nights of work.

So, I have been working on getting the Spring Issue of Rhythm of The Home edited and ready for the launch on Tuesday, and being that I didn’t want to slack off on that, I have been spending my last few nights working on my tutorials for my Waldorf Inspired dolls.

You know, because sleep is so over rated.

But they are done and full of a ridiculous amount of photos and instructions to assist in making them.

And I am in love.

I know that I say that alot, but seriously…I am.

And they are all in the storeThe patterns that is.


I promise, each one is as detailed as I can get them without sitting right next to you while you sew it.

And if you pay the airfare, I might just offer to do that as well.

************************************

Instructions and a pdf. on making the body and a little cute toque hat that can be stitched to the head to mimic a babies head of hair.

Without a face…

How to make a face…

Oh!  And she sits on her own!

No need to prop her up.

And then….instead of buying a new doll once your little one wants a more grown up little girl, there is a tutorial for adding hair to the doll.   Transitioning her into a little girl right along with your own little one.

See!  Thrifty.

She can become a Rapunzel.

You can cut it!

And style it all sorts of ways.

Oh, and that dress?!

There’s a tutorial and pattern pdf for that as well.

OK, there you have it.

*******************************************************

Disclaimer: Since I’ve already received a bit of flack about sharing these tutorials, I will explain my rationale below.

There are so many gorgeous Waldorf dolls out there.  SO many that are beautifully crafted by some unbelievable artist.

I can’t run with those BIG DOGS.

And yes, I was inspired in my creation of this doll with a basic shape and height, but I never EVER bought, stole, or used anyone elses pattern in my creation.  It is mine and mine alone.

Inspired of course, You can’t make a Waldorf Inspired Doll without certain characteristics, but I assure you that this tutorial and pattern is authentic to me.

You bet.

And my sole purpose in sharing this series of tutorials is to inspire and make it possible for other Mama’s to make a  doll for their little ones in case that they are unable to afford one of those beautiful dolls.

Because every wee one deserves to have a beautiful doll to snuggle.

Right?

Right.

Here is the link to the store… Adirondack Patterns on Etsy.

And if you can’t afford the prices, get in touch with me.  I bet we could work something out.

;)

***********************************************

Lots of love, Julia

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 22:40

    WOW!! This is totally inspiring and amazing. I know how fun those little doll clothes are to make… I can only imagine the work in making that hair! She is beautiful and you are really generous in offering such affordable patterns.

  2. February 26, 2011 23:31

    Oh, I’m in love… She is gorgeous & I think she might end up being my first handmade doll. :)

  3. Kimmi permalink
    February 27, 2011 08:54

    Honest to goodness I had to read your disclaimer twice! Someone has given you flack for being so generous? I really have no idea who created the “original” waldorf doll or whether it just evolved as these things tend to do but I always feel a twinge of disgust (quite frankly) when accusations of this sort fly especially in such a creative community. Here’s a link to an interesting paper on the subject
    ~http://web.mit.edu/comm-forum/papers/alfrey.html~ In no way do I condone outright copying or theft but we all draw inspiration from others and it therefore creates a common bond (and I would hope) nurturing environment within our community.
    Wishing you all the best with your pattern and thank you for making it available at such a great price for people who otherwise could not afford it.
    *And you are so right, everyone deserves a beautiful doll to snuggle ; )

  4. Bernadette permalink
    February 27, 2011 10:20

    Jules – you’re so like me! I get a bunch of other stuff done when we’re in crunch week. :)

    I would love to make a doll for Zoe – especially one with long hair. I’ll put that on my ‘free time’ list!

  5. February 27, 2011 10:36

    Ahhhh! Buying the pattern/tutorial now! I can’t wait – I’ve been so very scared to try and make dolls for my boys..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

