Skip to content

Knitting along…and a Sewing Bee…

February 2, 2011

So,  before that I share my knitting along progress, I wanted to feel you all out about something.

I have really been enjoying Ginny’s yarn-along and it has inspired me so fully in keeping up with my needlecrafting.  And while I do adore knitting, I have found myself neglecting my poor sewing machine in favor of fiber crafts.  So, I am making a conscious effort to split my crafting time more equally between sewing and knitting/crochet. In an attempt to keep myself on track I have decided that I am going to make a special post each week sharing what it is that I am sewing at the moment.

To inspire myself to keep stitching and also to collect a number of posts here in my new space that focus on my sewing.

I have also been thinking about how there are so many of us in this community that do both knitting/crochet in addition to sewing ( or just sewing alone) and I wanted to see if there is an interest by any of my friends to join me in a bit of a Sewing Bee.  I have already spoken to Ginny regarding the similarities, and although it would be similar to the yarn along in terms of sharing projects between friends and a Flickr group, there won’t be any reading involved. The gist will be to simply write a post on your blog (linking to the Sewing Bee) of  what it is that you are currently working on in your sewing space with a photo… whether it be hand or machine stitching.

Unfortunately, I am unable to use Mr Linky on WordPress so anyone participating will just simply leave their links in the comments for each weekly Sewing Bee.  I will attempt to keep a list of participants in a link on my sidebar and update it weekly.

The day of the week will most likely be Thursdays and I would love any feedback from any one regarding something to add, or something that they would love to see.

Like minded chicas…the sharing of patterns and progress of sewing.

What could be better than that?

Aside from yarn and needles, that is.

Knitting Along…

Reading~

The Forgotten Garden.  This book is entirely enthraling and enchanting all at once.  It had me with the hedge maze and the hidden cottage.  It is a big book, but with the amount of baths I am taking this time of year, there is plenty of time to escape to a mysterious country side.

Oh yes, there is.

On the needles~

That little baby I started last week.  He sits patiently waiting for me to attach his arms and torso to that monsterous head.  And YES, I did make the body a bit short, but this time it was on purpose ;).

I encourage you all to visit the lovely Ginny of Small Things over in her space to participate in the weekly Yarn Along.

And if you are interested in joining in on the Sewing Bee….

please leave a comment here or email me at

jules@adirondack-mama.com

And if you have any friends that you think might be interested, go ahead and invite them to join as well. The more the merrier.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 06:38

    Sounds like a really interesting book, thanks for sharing!!

  2. February 2, 2011 07:16

    Please include me in the sewing bee- I LOVE the idea!
    Also, your knit project looks adorable!

  3. February 2, 2011 08:05

    Love the idea of the sewing bee. I have not sewn for YEARS now and have been wanting to get the machine back out. So this may be my chance! Thanks!

  4. February 2, 2011 08:52

    Love that little Sewing Bee picture. 🙂 Your doll is adorable. Can’t wait to see it finished!

  5. February 2, 2011 10:17

    I love the idea of the Sewing Bee! Not sure that I would always have something to contribute, but I know I would read about others’ progress! And I’m also reading The Forgotten Garden! Loving it!!!

  6. February 2, 2011 10:34

    I think it is an excellent idea! I’ve been itching to get my machine back out, I made my sis a crochet hook roll for Christmas and now I’m thinking I need one too!

    The Forgotten Garden sounds right up my alley…

  7. February 2, 2011 11:16

    loved that book! and i’m asking for a sewing machine for my birthday which is rather soon so assuming the mr. gets all the hints, i’d love to join up in a few weeks!

  8. February 2, 2011 11:27

    I’d love to join in on the sewing bee. Maybe it would inspire me to finish some projects.

  9. February 2, 2011 11:32

    That books looks wonderful & such a sweet baby!

  10. February 2, 2011 11:43

    I’m interested in checking out that book! I love the sewing bee idea…I have been torn, too. Yarn-Along keeps me knitting but I need similar sewing encouragement – especially when my machine lives in the cold, lonely basement.

  11. February 2, 2011 12:01

    I would like to join in. Hopefully it will keep me motivated.

  12. February 2, 2011 12:26

    I have been thinking that I would love to join a sewing – along like the yarn along.
    I’m in!
    Also, I love your baby’s giant head:)

  13. February 2, 2011 15:38

    I love the idea of a sewing bee! I don’t always accomplish much from week to week, but it would be nice to keep track of the progress I do make.

    I’m looking forward to checking out The Forgotten Garden, it sounds lovely!

  14. February 2, 2011 16:14

    Count me in on the sewing bee. I have been neglecting my sewing for knitting ans could use the gentile push to get to it.

    Love your little knitting project and the book sounds lovely.

    Blessings, Elizabeth

  15. February 2, 2011 18:54

    the sewing bee is adorable! i love it when i move back and forth between two different kinds of needles (and sometimes even three or four!) in one day.

  16. February 2, 2011 23:46

    A sewing bee may be just what I need to get some projects done! Count me in. I can’t wait to see the baby completed.

  17. February 3, 2011 14:06

    Oh I am so in with this! I love it. Thanks for starting it, and I am grabbing a button right now 🙂

  18. February 4, 2011 11:57

    ooo, i will join as often as children permit! ; )

  19. February 4, 2011 21:46

    I would love to join your sewing bee! I have the same challenges… things get tricky when you are knitting something, and maybe some crochet too, and of course a sewing project going on, and… (embroidery, needle felting, goodness!)
    I should warn you though I seem to be unable to follow Ginny’s yarn along rules, I always post too many photos, but if you will allow me anyhow 😉
    Also I wanted to say that your new blog is so so lovely! Your creations are always so sweet and inspiring!
    Renee 🙂

  20. February 6, 2011 21:59

    Oh count me in! I have been sad that I don’t knit so can’t really participate in Ginny’s yarn along, but would love to share some sewing projects. This would also help motivate me to post some of my sewing as well…

    cheers! looking forward to it
    missy

  21. February 6, 2011 23:57

    I’m so much more a sewer than a knitter! I’m in, in a heartbeat!

  22. February 7, 2011 06:56

    That’s a great idea, I’d love to join 🙂

  23. February 7, 2011 16:18

    If it’s not too late, I would LOVE to get in on a sewing bee!!!

  24. February 7, 2011 22:45

    Oh this is such a wonderful idea 🙂 I actually was just thinking about how my poor sewing machine and how it has been neglected lately as I’m so busy knitting to keep up with ginny’s knit along *grin*. I’m going to try and post something on Thursday so that I can join in!

  25. February 7, 2011 23:12

    I’m definitely interested in the sewing bee as a motivating force…i just posted on my blog about trying to divide my time between my divergent crafting activities so that one did not get neglected consistently because of getting caught up in one field…

  26. Tara A permalink
    February 8, 2011 01:48

    eek- I’m reading this same book right now, and so far completely love it.
    Visiting from Ginnies Blog – and I love to sew as well, so will stop by soon.

  27. February 9, 2011 23:35

    Yea for Sewing Bee! I am totally off track with my sewing lately (struggling with my yarn along today too!). Can’t wait!!

  28. February 11, 2011 17:35

    i would love to participate in the sewing bee – what a fabulous idea. i love finding lovely like-minded people out in the blogosphere. thanks for the opportunity!

Trackbacks

  1. Getting our stitch on… « Adirondack Mama:Happiness Comes
  2. Winner… « Adirondack Mama:Happiness Comes
  3. My sewing room exploded.. « Adirondack Mama:Happiness Comes
  4. Knitting Along… « Adirondack Mama:Happiness Comes

Leave a Reply

