Skip to content

The Sewing Bee

February 10, 2011

I am so ridiculously excited for today!

~::~

Every Thursday…

Take pictures and write a post on your blog (linking HERE to the Sewing Bee) of what it is that you are currently working on in your sewing space… whether it be hand or machine stitching.

Like minded chicas…the sharing of patterns and progress of sewing.

To inspire ourselves to keep stitching.

What could be better than that?

~::~

Leave a link below in the comments to share your project with the rest of us!

~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~

My Sewing Bee…

On the hoop/ sewing table~ A ribbon security blanket.

Pattern~ Mine~ Tutorial here.

A customized baby security blanket with ribbon tags for my friend Breanna’s new baby.  She is due in 2 weeks and being that I just can’t stop making baby gifts lately, I had a hankering to get my embroidery on.

Her name is going to be Charlotte.  It is such a precious name and I just know that she will be as gorgeous a babe as her big brother Jack.  She is the first of many girls being born to nurses at the hospital where I work.  My friends Carrie, Lisa, and Aimee are also having girls this year.

It makes me curious as to which sex my twin is having…

She finds out next week!

Yippee!

Any way, back to the project.

I first wrote out her name and a little vine design in disappearing marker on the linen.  I used simple embroidery floss to outline the letters and the vine in coordinating colors.  There is nothing quite as pretty as embroidered writing, in my book.

I chose some soft flannel and a cut of some ridiculously soft minky fabric from my shelves.

I cut the embroidered piece in to a rectangle, folded over the edges to make it smooth and ironed it flat.  Then I pinned it to the front of the piece of flannel that I had chosen.

I then stitched around the edges of the applique.

From here on out, I followed my tutorial for making the ribbon security blanket.

I also used some ribbon from my stash in the closet to make tags on each of the edges.

I stitched, hemmed and ironed.

A quick and fun project to gift a little one.

Note: I did NOT stitch all around the perimeter of the blanket as I did in the tutorial.  I decided that it was a bit softer without the stitched edges.

~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~

Now, please share with me what you are working on below in the comments with a link…  I will attempt to keep a list of participants in a link on my sidebar and update it weekly.

Oh Yea, and there is a Flickr Group too!

AND! Take a button if you like.

Lots of love,

Julia

49 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 05:51

    I’ve been looking forward to today too! Thanks for hosting such a fun group. This week I finished up a ‘winter’ dress for my daughter – my first attempt at combining two different patterns.

    You can see it here: http://www.allireallyneed.ca/2011/02/sewing-bee-imke-circle-skirt/

    cheers! Can’t wait to see what everyone else has been up to.

  2. February 10, 2011 06:47

    You did a great job~I love the pink! So cute~love you! I will be joining the Bee next Thursday once I find out the sex of this little one OFFICIALLY! Then watch out…crafting stores and fabric stores BEWARE!

  3. February 10, 2011 07:01

    I’ve never used that minky fabric — of course I’ve had to touch it when walking by. It is absolutely perfect for a baby. The embroidered name is precious. Thanks for hosting this bee….You definitely inspired me to sew this week. Here’s the link to my project:
    http://thejollybee.blogspot.com/2011/02/im-joining-sewing-bee.html

    Have a great Thursday!

  4. February 10, 2011 08:57

    Here’s what I have this week: http://demilunes.blogspot.com/2011/02/sensible.html some red polkadotness

    It must be fun to be surrounded by so many baby love! the taggie is really cute

  5. February 10, 2011 08:57

    Here’s what I have this week: http://demilunes.blogspot.com/2011/02/sensible.html some red polkadotness

    It must be fun to be surrounded by so many baby love! the taggie is really cute!

  6. February 10, 2011 09:24

    Here is my contribution – love, love, love this Sewing Bee idea!
    http://luvinspoonful.blogspot.com/2011/02/sewing-bee.html

  7. February 10, 2011 10:04

    What a cute project and I love anything hand embroidered!
    I will add my projects soon today……for now I need more coffee….my dear son and daughter in love woke us up at 330 in the am to tell us they were in labor!!!!! : )
    We were soooooo excited, they live in England so we did a quick skype moment….went thru some breathing with her….needless to say we haven’t been asleep much at all.
    Oh…..false labor : /

  8. February 10, 2011 10:42

    I forgot to share how much I love your embroidery, have you seen Alicia Paulsen’s new book – lots of good embroidery ideas within those pages!

  9. February 10, 2011 11:06

    I love the embroidered writing, it is very sweet.

    I have nothing to show this week, but I am having a sewing giveaway here: http://milkymumma.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/giveaway/

  10. February 10, 2011 11:27

    Good morning!

    I’m beginning my bee with a full basket of mending!
    We’ll just see how much I can get done today.
    Thanks for encouraging us to get stitching!

    Laura
    Carthage, MO

    http://harvestlanecottage.blogspot.com/2011/02/sip-and-stitch-with-my-mending.html

    • February 10, 2011 20:58

      Mending…you are a better woman than I. I usually end up throwing out clothes, or repurposing the fabric for something else.

  11. February 10, 2011 13:10

    I’m so glad you started the Weekly Sewing Bee. I need the acountablity to keep me on track with me sewing projects. I have a quilt that just NEEDS to be finished and this is just the push I needed.

    Your tag blanket is adorable. I love the embroidered name.

    Here’s the link to my blog post: http://heartfelthomemaking.blogspot.com/2011/02/sewing-bee-colorblock-quilt.html

    Blessings, Elizabeth

  12. February 10, 2011 14:57

    So excited about joining the sewing bee! Thanks for hosting this! Looking forward to looking through your blog more ~ I came over from Ginny’s blog for yarn along.
    Here is what I have been working on this week….
    http://takingthyme.com/2011/02/10/sewing-bee/

    • February 10, 2011 21:00

      That bag is so pretty. I love a good bag for storing things on the go and that one looks like it would really serve it’s purpose.

  13. February 10, 2011 14:58

    Well, I’m doing very boring sewing today,(mending a shirt) but I did post this morning on my own blog about my lack of sewing machine skills and my hand stitching prowess!
    http://creativelywinkel.blogspot.com/2011/02/this-is-true-story-or-my-predicament.html
    I’ll officially join the sewing Bee next week I hope with something wonderful to share!
    What a great idea and just the inspiration I need!

    • February 10, 2011 21:04

      I loved the honesty of this post… You WILL master your machine and make some lovely things with it in the process. It is all a learning experience.

      I look at some of the things that I first made a few years ago and I cringe. You don’t learn to drive in a day, and you certainly won’t learn to stitch in one either.

      Love your blog BTW!

  14. February 10, 2011 15:16

    I love your embroidery, and it makes such a pretty addition to the baby blanket.

    I am embroidering & sewing together some little cherry blossom brooches for a craft exchange: http://perchesinthesoul.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/bloom-interrupted/.

  15. February 10, 2011 17:51

    This is a great idea – I love it! Here’s my sewing project:

    http://knittinginthenorth.typepad.com/knitting_in_the_north/2011/02/sewn-tea-cozy.html

  16. February 10, 2011 19:16

    I just barely got some sewing done today and I am so glad you motivated me to try! I’ve got a start now and will hopefully have lots of new dolly clothes sewn up over the next week!
    http://www.gsheller.com/2011/02/sewing-for-susan-and-lucy.html

    • February 10, 2011 21:06

      Ginny, I just saw them, what a great job. I swear, you were my mom in a past life! You are the best.

  17. February 10, 2011 20:31

    End of the day but I made it! : )
    Here is a link to my blog…..take a peek and enjoy : ) http://familyetchings.blogspot.com/2011/02/today-i-am-taking-part-in-this-fun.html

    I am having fun sewing on this project!
    I am so glad I have found you all!

  18. February 10, 2011 21:45

    So pretty Julia! I love the embroidery, and your little embroidery wrap!

    I recently got a great urge to start a little quilt for us…
    http://heirloomseasons.blogspot.com/2011/02/sewing-bee.html

    Renee 🙂

    • February 11, 2011 06:53

      that quilt is going to be so pretty! I love the patterns you chose. Can’t wait to see it finished up!

  19. February 10, 2011 23:02

    I think this is a terrific idea! I am so happy I’m able to participate in your very first Sewing Bee! Thanks for coming up with the idea and hosting the Sewing Bee!
    I’m working on a Reversible Patchwork Purse out of Batik fabric. It’s a ton of fun!
    http://jenletts.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/sewing-bee-reversible-patchwork-purse/

    • February 11, 2011 06:55

      What a cool technique, I ‘ve never seen so much pretty batik in one patchworky piece, I usually see it intermixed with other patterns.

      I love it!

  20. February 11, 2011 00:45

    I so wanted to sew today(pun intended). Instead I spent a glorious day outside at the park with my children and friends. We followed that with a fantastic late lunch. No sewing time for me, although I did knit.

    • February 11, 2011 06:56

      Well Heather, paper beats rock! And a day with kids and friends and food certainly beats holing up in the sewing room!

      See you next week.

  21. Breanna permalink
    February 11, 2011 08:37

    I am so blessed to have such a wonderful and talented friend making my unborn such beautiful handmade gifts. I wish I could have participated in the sewing bee, but I have been pretty darn uncomfortable. I have enjoyed viewing the wonderful projects that people are working on. Thank you Julia for being amazing. The embroidary is just darling!

    • February 14, 2011 09:39

      Oh Bre! You are so welcome. We are lucky ot have such wonderful friends as well. Love you.

  22. February 11, 2011 20:27

    A few of my sewing projects

Trackbacks

  1. all i really need » Blog Archive » Sewing Bee: Imke + Circle Skirt
  2. Sewing Bee… | Taking Thyme
  3. Sewing Bee – Reversible Patchwork Purse | S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen
  4. This Moment… « Adirondack Mama:Happiness Comes
  5. Knitting along… « Adirondack Mama:Happiness Comes
  6. Knitting Along… « Adirondack Mama:Happiness Comes

Leave a Reply

