Skip to content

The Sewing Bee ~::~ Week 2

February 17, 2011

~::~

Every Thursday…

Take pictures and write a post on your blog (linking HERE to the Sewing Bee) of what it is that you are currently working on in your sewing space… whether it be hand or machine stitching.

Like minded chicas…the sharing of patterns and progress of sewing.

To inspire ourselves to keep stitching.

What could be better than that?

~::~

Leave a link below in the comments to share your project with the rest of us!

~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~

My Sewing Bee…

On the hoop/ sewing table~ A mobile / wall hanging.

Pattern~ Birds by Spool.

Mobile design~ my own.

I made this mobile over the weekend for my good friend Randi.  She has a baby girl due in 7 weeks and although I made her a little baby doll, I wanted to include just one other handmade thing ( it’s so hard to stop gifting homemade once I start! ).  It isn’t my first time making this though.  Laura and I made and sold several of these mobiles when we were vendors at the local Farmers markets.

With just a day to spare before the shower, I was glad that I was able to finish it in an hour or so.

I really love this pattern and find it easier and easier the more birds that I have made.  I adapted the design just a touch for this one.  Trying to keep it simple, yet classy at the same time.  I used muted pinks, browns and greens in florals and cottons.  Stuffed til plump, they are just precious.

I tied some embroidery thread to their backs and attached them to a leggy branch.


I also tied one end of a length of thick ribbon to each end of the branch.

This allows for the mobile to swing and for the branch to be free from tilting one way or another.

It really is darling to see the birds swaying free in the air.  The original design from Spool has the birds perched on the branches, and while I do find that a lovely look, I am much more fond of a little free flow.  I think it has more appeal to a baby watching it from below.

We used to have a basket of the birds on our table at the Farmer’s Markets for making new mobiles in custom color combinations for the customers who came by.  A few little kids would come over and want to have one to carry around as a toy.  We even had a lady buy 3 of them for her cats!

I can honestly say that this sweet little bird’s possibilities are endless.

~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~~::~::~::~::~::~::~::~

Now, please share with me what you are working on below in the comments with a link…  I will attempt to keep a list of participants in a link on my sidebar and update it weekly.

Oh Yea, and there is a Flickr Group too!

AND! Take a button if you like.

Lots of love,

Julia

43 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 05:51

    The birds are just gorgeous. What a beautiful creation for a precious wee babe.
    I hear you on the handmade gifting addiction! I am in love with making (and giving away) slings at the moment, and I have been scouring op shops for pre-loved fabrics, as I love the energy they hold.
    This week I finished off a small owl for a friend who, like you, is making a mobile for a pregnant friend.

    Peace xx

  2. February 17, 2011 06:41

    What a gorgeous mobile! Perhaps I will have to give in and make one for my #3.
    You can find what I’m sewing on here: http://bibliosophybooks.typepad.com.

    • February 19, 2011 06:43

      you did a beautiful job! I am in love with the fabric, and that book looks like a total jem.

  3. February 17, 2011 07:04

    Your birds are precious. I have a collection of birdhouses (some that hang from the ceiling in our family room). The birds would make a perfect complement for them. I love the idea of stuffing them until they’re plump.

    I finished up a quilt over the weekend….I was just happy to cross this project off my list of works-in-progress. Here’s the link:

    http://thejollybee.blogspot.com/2011/02/sewing-diamonds.html

    As always, thanks for hosting.

    • February 19, 2011 06:45

      the quilt turned out gorgeous, I really am envious of those who have the patience to quilt. Thanks for joining.

  4. February 17, 2011 10:02

    Oh how lovely! these birds are wonderful. I would enjoy them joining me. what a wonderful baby gift.

    Here is my Sewing Bee entry for the week. A couple little projects: http://heartfelthomemaking.blogspot.com/2011/02/sedwing-bee-snack-mats-and-baggies.html

    Blessings, Elizabeth

    • February 19, 2011 06:47

      I love love love that you used the tutorial for the snack mats from ROTH! You did a fabulous job. Thanks for joining Elizabeth.

  5. February 17, 2011 10:05

    The birds are gorgeous! That project is in my mental sewing to do list. Here is what I did this week. Hoping to join again next week! 🙂

    http://jo11931.xanga.com/741512132/sewing-bee-and-getting-fit/

    • February 19, 2011 06:49

      JoAnn, I wish you luck in your weightloss journey. Tons ans tons of luck. The fabric you used for those cases is so pretty. Just the right amount of girliness.

  6. February 17, 2011 10:09

    how sweet – I love the soft fabric colors for the birds. We made a few of these same birds for a thrifted wooden birdcage I picked up at the thriftstore – I was surprised how easy they were – and truly did get better the more we made.

    This week I sewed up a dress for my second daughter – you can see it here http://www.allireallyneed.ca/2011/02/sewing-bee-feliz-dress/ .

    Hope you have a great week.

    • February 19, 2011 06:51

      OK, she is just precious! I love hee little dance moves and she obviously LOVES her Mama made dress. You did a terrific job Missy.

  7. February 17, 2011 10:36

    I adore those little birds! What a perfect spring time project too. I think a mobile like this would be so sweet in our playroom for spring.

    Here’s what I’m up to…conquering my fear of making clothes!!

    http://mamamusicman.blogspot.com/2011/02/sewing-bee-thursday-i-made-dress.html

    • February 19, 2011 06:53

      I can’t wait to see that gorgeous dress on your ” World’s cutest model” ! What great fabric, I just love Anna’s stuff. Thanks Danielle.

  8. February 17, 2011 11:25

    I love those birds! I have meant to make a mobile with them as well, but haven’t ever managed to.
    Here’s my sewing for this week–more planning than actually sewing though!
    http://www.gsheller.com/2011/02/ambition.html

  9. quiltmomof3 permalink
    February 17, 2011 11:36

    Oh I’m just loving this sewing bee. It’s is lovely to look at sewing projects.
    I love the birds! What a beautiful photograph with them and the snow.
    Here is my sewing for this week, Hagar’s quilt block!
    http://dixiehomemade.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/sewing-bee-in-february-of-2011/

  10. February 17, 2011 12:09

    Those birds are adorable! I’m linking up with you today 🙂

    http://pattycakemanners.blogspot.com/2011/02/dusting-off-machine.html

  11. February 17, 2011 13:18

    Thank you so much for reminding me about the birds. I am off to make a few for our daughter.
    I love the mobile and the gnome you have made for Heather form Shivaya Natural. May I ask regarding the pattern for the gnome? Thank you so much!!!

  12. February 17, 2011 14:13

    here’s my sewing for this week
    http://demilunes.blogspot.com/2011/02/little-dress-that-could.html

    I want to make something similar for our play corner…I have haselnut branch near to remind it to me. They look pretty simple to make… Yours a very pretty, I love how soft the colors are.

    • February 19, 2011 07:08

      What a great idea to tear off the sleeves, two dresses in one! Good for you and what gorgeous babies you have.

  13. February 17, 2011 16:21

    I’m stitching today!

  14. February 17, 2011 16:33

    Your mobile is really beautiful!

    I am currently working with my hoop, tacking some doilies down onto fabric to make bags (or possibly quilt squares…we’ll see):
    http://perchesinthesoul.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/explore-and-embellish/

    • February 19, 2011 07:11

      Quilt squares, doilies, bags….whatever you decide, they are going to be gorgeous. What wonderful doilies you have to use.

  15. February 17, 2011 16:47

    When you can give such a lovely hand-made gift, it would be just silly not to!
    What’s going on in my sewing space today? a much needed clean-up! http://beforeandafterdesigns.blogspot.com/2011/02/sewin-lane.html

    thanks for hosting 🙂

  16. February 17, 2011 17:52

    I am obsessed with birds these days. I think I may have to make a fun mobile for the newest family member at some point.
    Here is what I accomplished last week:

    http://chasingdomesticbliss.blogspot.com/2011/02/sewing-along.html

  17. February 17, 2011 21:26

    I absolutely love your birds! They came out soooo cute!
    I had nothing but mending on my plate today so I did opt to not post anything but I am enjoying visiting everyones blogs to see what they all have done today…..it’s a great way to get inspired!

    • February 19, 2011 07:18

      Mending is still sewing right? Getting inspired is half the fun of having crafty friends.

  18. February 17, 2011 22:36

    Here’s my late entry for the sewing Bee! And I LOVE THOSE BIRDS!!!!!!!!!!

    http://creativelywinkel.blogspot.com/2011/02/another-apron-for-miss.html

    • February 19, 2011 07:20

      Ashley, that story and the apron are just darling. You did such a wonderful job. Very feminine and lovely.

  19. February 18, 2011 17:01

    i meant for this to get in last week’s sewing bee! i’m totally slipping it in under the door via blogger by post-dating. ; ) thanks for hosting, julia!

    http://www.byhandathome.com/2011/02/how-to-sew-magnetic-fishing-set.html

  20. February 18, 2011 20:36

    What adorable little birds!!

  21. February 21, 2011 17:46

    This sounds fun. I’d like to join in next week but I need help figuring out how to grab a button. Could you please tell me how that works? Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Tuesday crafternoon « Milkymumma
  2. all i really need » Blog Archive » sewing bee – feliz dress
  3. Sewing Bee in February of 2011 « Dixie Homemade

Leave a Reply

